Restroom Review: Sproul Hall (First Floor Men’s)

Background Info:

To my knowledge, every campus in the UC system has something Sproul, whether it be a building or a street, in honor of the eleventh president of the University of California. At UC Riverside, we of course have Sproul Hall, home to the twisty staircase, random section of rocks, and discussion sections. Being a building built in the honor of the Sproul name, you would expect honorable things out of its restrooms. Did the Sproul Hall men’s restroom make like Mulan and bring honor to its family?

The Layout: Upon opening the door I was greeted with another door. Why in the world would they go out of their way to insert an extra barrier?

Proceed...if you dare!

Proceeding on because I dared, I entered the restroom, or should I say, GLORIFIED PORTA-POTTY. This restroom is tiny and cramped. For a restroom that is built to have at least 4-5 occupants, this is pretty terrible. Now I get it…that second door was supposed to discourage me from going any further! I’ll award a point for the warning. Score: 1/5

This...this is cozy...

Cleanliness: Because this restroom is so small and cramped, it is susceptible to stuffiness – a deadly thing when it comes to restrooms. The air is so dense there’s probably thick microbial pieces of poop flying around in the air (I’m not a science major so don’t hold me to this statement). I felt like breathing in here would cause a poop build-up in my lungs (again, I’m not a science major).

Heading into the stall to inspect the toilet, I witnessed the nastiest yellow stain, like so nasty my pee would be too clean to make contact with it. See for yourself in the picture below. I’d also like to make a point that these images were taken at around 8:00 AM, so this is what the toilet starts out as in the BEGINNING of the day!

Hahaha...oh wait that's real? ...ugh.

The stalls in this restroom always have great graffiti on the walls. Though its not clean to the walls, it sure is entertaining sometimes, so I count it as a positive! This graffiti pictured was pretty up-beat, but it didn’t do enough to brighten my experience in this restroom. Score: 1/5

Better than a poop on my step I guess

Amenities: Well after witnessing the pee coated toilet seat with stuff floating in the water, I didn’t want to inspect the amenities in the stall any further. But let’s just ASSUME its the standard 1-ply toilet paper rolls that require at least 50 sheets to be able to withstand a single wipe, and lets HOPE that it is refilled along with the toilet seat covers (but a whole new toilet seat would be better). Score: 1/5

Privacy: Let me take this time to discuss one of my biggest pet peeves – URINALS WITH NO SIDE WALLS. I am one of those people who have trouble turning on the hose when at the urinal because I’m self conscious just if there is a guy staring at me from behind. Having no privacy from the sides makes this even worse! I don’t want some creeper angling his eyes to the side and seeing my stuff! I’m pretty sure 9 out of 10 guys will see someone using one of these urinals, and opt to use the stall instead of use the urinal next to them, awkward penguin style. The urinals are literally like 4 inches apart; what were they trying to promote here, peeing competitions?! You might as well combine the two urinals to make one gigantic urinal tub if you are going to put them that close, perhaps that way you can squeeze in a third guy. Speaking of the urinals, also note that in the picture one of the urinals still has pee in it. Yikes… Score: BIG FAT 0/5

WHY YOU NO SEPARATE!?

Closing Statements: To the honorable Mr. Sproul, I’m sorry but this restroom has brought dishonor to your family, and probably lung problems too. You truly deserved better, and I hope one day you get that restroom you deserve, one with a practical urinal setup, and at least a canister of Fabreeze.

THE VERDICT:

1/5 Toilets – “Vomitrocious”  

2 responses to “Restroom Review: Sproul Hall (First Floor Men’s)

Leave a Reply

